Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Phase 1: At a polling place under the Moirang Assembly segment in Thamanpokpi, there was a shooting incident by miscreants. Workers from the TMC and the BJP engaged in physical altercations in several locations within the violent Seat of Cooch Behar

Lok Sabha Elections 2024:

On April 19, 102 seats spread across 17 States and 4 Union Territories opened for voting in the first round of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Along with Gaurav Gogoi of the Congress, Kanimozhi of the DMK, and K. Annamalai, the president of the Tamil Nadu BJP, prominent figures in the race include eight Union Ministers: Nitin Gadkari, Kiren Rijiju, Sarbanada Sonowal, Jitendra Singh, and Bhupendra Yadav.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Lok Sabha Seats:

The majority of seats in the first phase are from southern India, with 39 coming from Tamil Nadu and one from Puducherry. During his campaign, Prime Minister Narendra Modi made several trips to the State as the BJP looked to establish itself there. Still, the two Dravidian majorities remain the front-runners: the All-India-Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and the reigning Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK). There are 25 seats in Rajasthan, 8 in Uttar Pradesh, 6 in Madhya Pradesh, 5 in Maharashtra, Uttarakhand, and Assam, 4 in Bihar, 3 in West Bengal, 2 in Arunachal Pradesh, and 1 in each of Tripura, Jammu and Kashmir, and Chhattisgarh that are up for election.

Assembly elections are also taking place simultaneously in Sikkim (32 seats) and Arunachal Pradesh (60 seats).

About Lok Sabha Elections:

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), the INDIA alliance, and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) will compete in Uttar Pradesh in a three-way race. Udhampur-Doda is the sole Parliament seat in Jammu and Kashmir that will be up for election in the first phase. Jitendra Singh, a Union Minister for the BJP who is seen as close to the prime minister, is running against Chaudhary Lal Singh of the Congress and G.M. Saroori of the Democratic Progressive Azad Party. Maharashtra and West Bengal are the other States that are vital to the saffron party.

After suffering setbacks in the elections of 2014 and 2019, the members of the opposition INDIA alliance are looking for a comeback, while the BJP-dominated NDA, led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, is aiming for a larger majority.