Pakistan and India are the first two teams to announce their squads for the upcoming Asia Cup. We take a look at all the squads for this year’s tournament as they continue to be announced.
The 2022 Asia Cup is a six-team tournament that will be held in UAE between August 27 and September 11.
Here are all the squads for this year’s tournament:
Group A
India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan. Standby: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar.
Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir.
Qualifier: Final team in Group A yet to be determined
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India’s Squad for Asia Cup 2022 on Monday. Rohit Sharma will be leading team India in the mega event which is all set to commence in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on August 27 this year. The final of Asia Cup 2022 will be played in Dubai on September 11.
India’s campaign in this year’s tournament will kick off with a heavyweight clash against arch-rivals Pakistan on August 28. The Men in Blue would like to avenge the defeat in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 and stamp their authority in regards to the preparation of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 which will be played later this year in Australia.